Unicorn

250 word story about finding the perfect gift.

It is his last day today. I am not at work, I phoned in sick. The manager’s voice was scathing; no one believes a Friday sick-call. I hoped a bit of shopping might improve my mood. A window display catches my eye- a watercolour of a winged horse- such glassy detail. The frame is wide, at the bottom the word ‘Pegasus’ cut with silver. I watch my reflection in the window, a silhouette, light from the rain fat clouds behind me.

I stood by him yesterday, just before I went home. His eyes look up to mine for and all I could mutter was goodbye. There was a pewter unicorn on top of his monitor. It pawed at the grass eager to leave. He had seen me looking at it.

“It reminds me there is freedom,” he said and pointed at the stack of papers on his desk. His name was next to the unicorn, block capitals, underneath it said temp. That was the moment I decided I was not coming in today.

As I walked away from the crowded shop I wondered what made my buy the painting. It would not look right in my house.

“Sophie?” I turned at the sound of my name. “What are you doing here?”My husband stares at the bag in my hand with a scowl.

–Benjamin F Jones 
About Graphite Bunny

I am a writer working in South Wales (UK). I love pizza, photography and moist clay. When it rains I catch drops in my open mouth. I create poetry, flash, absurdist snapshots and humorous fiction.
This entry was posted in Exercises, Prose, Snapshots and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

