Unglazed Clay Body

The morning’s ceramic constructs
rowed up on newspaper
cover the kitchen worktop

Amélie and I eat pesto and pasta
a lump of edam cheese
banana-money for afters

rain in sheets
scrolling down the windows
“Can you get me some water please?”

on the radio’s tinny speakers
a song from the sixties
distant as a night of heavy drinking

the song and the rain and the clay
hang like a drip on the lintel
filling up our seconds.

 

–Benjamin F Jones 
About Graphite Bunny

I am a writer working in South Wales (UK). I love pizza, photography and moist clay. When it rains I catch drops in my open mouth. I create poetry, flash, absurdist snapshots and humorous fiction.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

