Exam Stress – Final Moments

I sit in a dog-beaten chair looking out. The window is a tired mouth glazed with yawns. The patio is paved with flat teeth, bleached in sunshine. I run my tongue over my own teeth, taste the hacksaw mint toothpaste.

I have been up most of the night. In fifteen minutes the examination hall will open. I imagine the congealed air, my wiry thoughts catching on the spines of books and the legs of pretty girls.

The ceiling pauses, I tilt my head back, white paint, sweat stains, an exam paper waiting for a student. The halls of residence grown like mould. Why did I end up here doing a university degree.

On the horizon slabs of horse graze back and forth, liquid Cadillacs on a hill. I imagine ice cream, bitter as a tom cat. Already the day it too hot for thought. I cram my bag with papers and flick a malingering ant from my text books.

I dream a postman with gift wrapped answers.

–Benjamin F Jones
Red help button

Why did I end up here doing a university degree?

About Graphite Bunny

I am a writer working in South Wales (UK). I love pizza, photography and moist clay. When it rains I catch drops in my open mouth. I create poetry, flash, absurdist snapshots and humorous fiction.
This entry was posted in Prose, Scraplets, Snapshots and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Exam Stress – Final Moments

  1. This is why girls should wear trousers tied with bicycle clips at the bottom and Rosa Klebb shoes into exams, so the fellows concentrate on the paper in front of them.

    • It is a cruel trick of fate that the majority of exams are taken at that age. I attribute my lack of maths skills to the fact that my maths class overlooked the girls netball court. Teenage boy; matrix multiplications or girls in short skirts.

Leave a Reply

