Sleepwriting: Hypnagogic Writing

Grey Pontypridd. Sky squeezes among the houses and draws density from the church steeple. The clock hands can only just be made out; five minutes to four. Roads are white, reflecting a film of water. Cars wade down the hill. Splashing through puddles. Insanity has fangs. I can barely think. I smell flashes of yellow the colour of lichen on stone. Hundreds of years growing in bitter soil. I hear people’s breath being taken away as they slide past on the wet pavement. There is a rhythm in my body, caught between sleep and being. Slapped like a fish. Voices soothe me. Edges creeping back and forth like curly hair. Rain macs, the water runs off. The smell of tiles and adhesive grout over and over like a motor. I push my thoughts into her and pull the iron bars closed. At the speed bump is a police woman, she is well built, black tights and a short black party skirt that hangs on the rail; a creaking frog. The floorboards move and the ratchet spanner is used as a hammer to bolt heads. In two hours time I will be woken, surrounded by garages and quick thinking. The taste of cornflakes and artificial mousse. Celebrity hair colourist like skid marks down the street.

–Benjamin F Jones
Notes: Sitting at my desk one evening I decided to see what would happen if I kept writing as I fell asleep. I could barely read the scrawl the next morning and I don’t remember the transition from writing to dreams.
Watercolour slice - art attic

In two hours time I will be woken, surrounded by garages and quick thinking.

About Graphite Bunny

I am a writer working in South Wales (UK). I love pizza, photography and moist clay. When it rains I catch drops in my open mouth. I create poetry, flash, absurdist snapshots and humorous fiction.
This entry was posted in Exercises, Prose, Scraplets and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sleepwriting: Hypnagogic Writing

  1. Really liked this, Ben. Hope to see you over the next few months for a beer, when you’re next up at Jacob’s Mouse’s gaff.

    Cheers!

    Matt McKenzie

Leave a Reply

