The First Snowdrop: ‘February can often be a bad month’

The sky is red
it comes under the clouds’ lid
illuminating the valley rim
trees and transmitter pylon
drip with golden syrup

the woman sitting on the wall
outside the Bunch of Grapes
says, ‘it’s going to be a bitter one
February can often be a bad month’
she pulls her words out of a shopping bag
and scatters them across the broken flagstones

my rucksack is heavy
it contains the task I don’t want to do

I nod my head
and walk on.

About Graphite Bunny

I am a writer working in South Wales (UK). I love pizza, photography and moist clay. When it rains I catch drops in my open mouth. I create poetry, flash, absurdist snapshots and humorous fiction.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Snapshots and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The First Snowdrop: ‘February can often be a bad month’

  1. That’s really wonderful poem. I can so much hear that woman speaking, and see what she looks like. Wherever you live in the UK, there are the ‘weather’ commentators. And should you dare say what a lovely day it is, they will reply with ‘yes, but the forecast is terrible’.

    • Thank you for your comments.
      Weather watchers are fascinating. I never put much stead with forecasts – I think the pretty graphs and charts are a cover for the fact that it is all made up; people trust graphs. x

Leave a Reply

