My Waitress Tells Me In One Breath

She got married last Tuesday on Valentine’s day
now her family name is Brownwell
she has three children who are teenagers
her husband has one child
they all live together
they call him dad and her mum which is nice
his ex-wife is a drug addict
she doesn’t want her children involved
so they don’t see her anymore
her husband earns eighteen thousand pounds a day
and works in Cardiff somewhere
she hasn’t told anyone outside the family this
except me.

–Benjamin F Jones
About Graphite Bunny

I am a writer working in South Wales (UK). I love pizza, photography and moist clay. When it rains I catch drops in my open mouth. I create poetry, flash, absurdist snapshots and humorous fiction.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Snapshots and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My Waitress Tells Me In One Breath

  1. a nice slice of Life there

  2. boneland says:

    A life in a nutshell. £18K a day, hey – he must be running a string of waitresses across Wales.

  3. the poem certainly does what the title says.

  4. jonth says:

    Obviously you have a kind face, or do I only imagine stories of marriage proposal while working at the Asda checkout?

  5. I know the type. She’ll have told every customer with a sympathetic face the same thing, until it flies all around Cardiff and she becomes a celebrity on the equivalent of Welsh Big Brother 😉

Leave a Reply

