Brother: from the archive of 1989

I’ve got a brother,
he writes songs,
about junk yards – and fish.

And when he goes,
he leaves plectrums.
Piles of plectrums.

And empty bottles of Jack.

 – Benjamin F Jones
I am going through my old work – oodles of drivelling angst from when I was a teenager. I found this from a time when I filled up poetry with punctuation and capitalisation. This is one of the few that doesn’t rhyme. Hard to believe that it is 23 years old.
About Graphite Bunny

I am a writer working in South Wales (UK). I love pizza, photography and moist clay. When it rains I catch drops in my open mouth. I create poetry, flash, absurdist snapshots and humorous fiction.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Brother: from the archive of 1989

  1. This thread about woolly mammoths is great. I was thinking about writing a surreal flash fiction on the subject. Perhaps all I have to do is a bit of editing on this thread!

  2. D. B. Dean says:

    Gotta love a brother who leaves empty bottles of jack…man after my own heart.

  3. this poem is great! so straight-forward and yet mysterious. i love the last line…

  4. I really like this, even if it is vintage-Bunny. It sounds so like a brother – actually, my brother. Do they clone them somewhere?

Leave a Reply

