One of those people: law of attraction

His name is Royston. When a customer enters the bar he asks them what his name means. Can they translate it? He can’t see that other people want him to go away. The barman wants him to stop talking so he can update his blog and I want to float my thoughts on a pint of something brewed in the cellar next door.
He thinks his name might have something to do with red. He buys me a pint so I am honour bound to listen while he talks absolute shoe-makers. When he goes outside for a cigarette the fresh air gives him a beating. He swerves back and shakes my hand – then puts his arm round me. I remove myself from his personal space – downing my pint in an updrunk rush.
“You might be famous one day – with you being a writer and doing writing.”
I sign the bar mat and watch ink spread into the damp cardboard.

The barman winks as I return my glass – I can guess what he’s blogging about.

–Benjamin F Jones 
Today I got to be a full member of Ltiopia – an online writers’ forum where I had to have my writing inspected (over several months). I am very pleased but nervous at the same time.
About Graphite Bunny

I am a writer working in South Wales (UK). I love pizza, photography and moist clay. When it rains I catch drops in my open mouth. I create poetry, flash, absurdist snapshots and humorous fiction.
This entry was posted in Humour, Prose, Scraplets, Snapshots and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to One of those people: law of attraction

  1. jonth says:

    Delightful. I derived something of the same pleasure from Describe Someone. Please do keep sketching these character vignettes for us.

  2. What an opportunity, meeting someone like Royston. Such creative fodder in the hands of a literary genius. There’s usually someone of the same ilk in taverns in fantasy novels. Use him. Write a whole history around him. File him away. He might come in useful one day when you write your magnus opus.

  3. james says:

    I think I’ve met that guy not Royston you understand that writer guy

Leave a Reply

