Haiku for DIY enthusiasts – Part 1

White shell
rolled in sawdust
a hard hat dropped

in the shade of ear defenders
the 16mm drill sinks into accepting stone
easy as a choir

hot copper
capillary tight
a halo of solder cools.

–Benjamin F Jones 
About Graphite Bunny

I am a writer working in South Wales (UK). I love pizza, photography and moist clay. When it rains I catch drops in my open mouth. I create poetry, flash, absurdist snapshots and humorous fiction.
This entry was posted in Haiku and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Haiku for DIY enthusiasts – Part 1

  1. What a good idea. I shall start to wear ear defenders against shrieking, warbling sopranos who should have retired long ago. Having said that, I once broke a window while singing something of Benjamin Britten’s based on a diatonic scale. If I’d taken a normal route to a Bb, I’m sure it wouldn’t have inflicted the same damage. It was a nice pure note – so pure it could cut glass.

    • I wore ear defenders if my daughter ever got into one of those baby crying-like-hell though nothing is wrong modes. It worked well- my stress levels decreased, the baby picked up on it and soon everyone was calm and happy again. Babies do not cry in diatonic scales.

Leave a Reply

