Town Centre: Closed Down for Refit

Smeared grease on kerbstone. Cobble fists hard into shoe soles. He avoids eye contact with pigeons pecking at fag buts and spit. Diesel engine taxi rumble. Walking home he glances back to the office. Second floor above the shops. Soot stained brick cliffs. Spider web windows. A microwave and cupboards for staff.
He smells coffee and mixed grill from the café. Open late. Conversation at tables with friends he doesn’t have. A woman with her husband tight at the hip steer their way around him. Articulated into the café. Laughing. Kissing.
He pushes open the muggy heat. Into Kev’s for kebabs for one. Pink meat revolutions. Skewered grease. Drip.
Scaffolding scrambling over shop fronts. I walk beneath them. Rattled by bass bin stampede. Toy car drag strip. Caps on backwards. Brake light wheel spin. Look at me look at me through tinted windows.
I glance back at the office above the clothing shop. Nefertiti. Plastic models in summer dresses. Stars for being good girls. Windows reflect, shouting off shop fronts. Voices from the café. Diesel engine taxi mumble. A distant car horn.
Seat outside the pub with cool beer. Smell perfume as a perfect woman walks past. Short sleeves short skirt kebab in hand. A smile. Warm skin dreaming. Evening heat. She looks up at a seagull hanging on a thread of air. I take a sip and the world expands.

– Benjamin F Jones
About Graphite Bunny

I am a writer working in South Wales (UK). I love pizza, photography and moist clay. When it rains I catch drops in my open mouth. I create poetry, flash, absurdist snapshots and humorous fiction.
This entry was posted in Prose, Prose Poetry, Scraplets, Snapshots and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Town Centre: Closed Down for Refit

  1. I love some of the phrases here. The whole piece surges forward with heated energy, and then there’s the cool beer. Wonderful contrasts 🙂

  2. Some good lines in there. Pink meat revolutions, cobble fists. Is the shift from third person to first on purpose? I like the first person, i think it works better.

    • Thank you. Yes the shift is deliberate – it marks the step from work him to social I if you see what I mean. I try to muck around less with that kind of stuff – too cerebral and it just detracts from the writing.

Leave a Reply

