Child’s Treasure

Beneath the loose floorboard
an egg box treasure chest
reveals
a bent penny washer
a hosepipe adaptor
a pink badge with a star on it
and the keys from the bathroom that have been missing for weeks.

– Benjamin F Jones
About Graphite Bunny

I am a writer working in South Wales (UK). I love pizza, photography and moist clay. When it rains I catch drops in my open mouth. I create poetry, flash, absurdist snapshots and humorous fiction.
This entry was posted in Humour, Poetry, Snapshots and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Child’s Treasure

  1. That’s a great little snapshot 🙂

    As a child, I really loved loose floorboards. My father used to buy land for redevelopment, and I really enjoyed following the workmen around to see what treasures they unearthed as they tore up floorboards in old houses. Of course, these days a child wouldn’t be allowed to follow workmen around for health and safety considerations, etc., etc.

    • Moolie definitely gets to play in my building site – All floors have to have a secret compartment built in to them for hiding chocolate and sparkly treasure. I am working at the front room at the moment and we have already decided where the secret compartment can be so it doesn’t get in the way of pipes or wires!

Leave a Reply

