Patient Screening

Today is Friday. I am safe – protecting both others and myself from the urges that control my body. Two hundred years ago I would have been sent to the priest to loosen the grip of the demon within – after that I would have been burned. Now we have doctors; they talk about chemical and electrical imbalances. I had an absence yesterday, I don’t remember it but the bruises on my arms are fresh like aubergine and the cut on my thumb bled when I removed the bandage at breakfast. Friday – that is the day my mother and father used to visit.

– Benjamin F Jones
Today I had a short story, ‘New Fatherhood’, published by Morpheus Tales.
Chemical and Electrical Imbalance

Chemical and Electrical Imbalance

About Graphite Bunny

I am a writer working in South Wales (UK). I love pizza, photography and moist clay. When it rains I catch drops in my open mouth. I create poetry, flash, absurdist snapshots and humorous fiction.
This entry was posted in Exercises, Prose and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Patient Screening

  1. jonth says:

    Just enough information to maintain interest; obscure enough to keep us guessing.
    We enjoy getting these pieces, some previously seen, some brand new. I hope to read Miracle on Romilly Street again one day.
    Congratulations on your recent published work.

  2. Epilepsy, I assume? Poor you. My grandfather was afflicted with the same, but at least the treatment is better now. Hope you’re fully okay this fine monday afternoon.
    Hey, I just noticed your small print bit about getting a short story published today. Wonderful. Well done 🙂

    • Thank you – I was very chuffed with my publication. I was concerned that when I went to the university on Wednesday they would look at my gap in publishing history and say ‘what happened’. What actually happened was I sent out lots of copies of a disastrous SF, a book on depression and a very encouraging SF which will be published one day but isn’t quite there yet (chapter 2 is in King).
      And I am very good on this fine Monday afternoon. (I also got a rejection of ‘Spawning Ground’ which is the kind of odd SF you are interested in – ‘not polished enough’ – would you have time to look at it in the next few weeks?)

Leave a Reply

