There’s Plenty to See

“Could you to come with us, sir.”
The voice came from behind me. I turned away from the outfitters window. Two policemen – one whispered into his radio. I heard crackle and static.
“Yeah we’ve got him.”
The high street was busy, shuffling with office workers on lunch breaks. Many of them stopped to stare. My cheeks became hot.
“We had a call from the girl in here – says you have been loitering – taking photos through the window.”
“I was…”
“I think it would be better if you came quietly.”
“I’m not a pervert.”
The larger of the policemen stretched his shoulders as if preparing for a fight. I looked beyond him. The high street was clotted with pedestrians. A man filmed with a mobile phone. Someone pulled out sandwiches.
“Come on you lot.” The policeman shouted. “There is nothing to see there.
The crowd shuffled without moving; there was plenty to see.
My throat was dry. The radio hissed something I couldn’t understand.
“The van’s on its way sergeant.”
“There’s a word for people like you.”
“I was just… I was looking at the bow ties.”

– Benjamin F Jones
This was written for a writing competition (May 2012) – I never heard back – I suspect it was too weird.
Broken Billboard in Tooting Bec

Broken Billboard in Tooting Bec

About Graphite Bunny

I am a writer working in South Wales (UK). I love pizza, photography and moist clay. When it rains I catch drops in my open mouth. I create poetry, flash, absurdist snapshots and humorous fiction.
This entry was posted in Humour, Scraplets, Snapshots and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to There’s Plenty to See

  1. What–you too weird? Never 😉 But then if I’m weird, too, I’m going to think you’re normal.
    You know I love your bowtie story, as I already told you before you sent it off for the competition. It’s very funny. The judges just had no sense of humour.

    • Thanks for being my weird associate! I sent that to you on the day I sent it off – it seems hard to believe that the deadline for the competition has been and gone – it seems like it was only a couple of weeks ago – not four months.

Leave a Reply

