Small adds: the pink pages

Peering into other people’s lives, seeing the minutia of the things they don’t require. I read all the sections – adverts for things I’m never going to buy. It amuses me when I find objects hidden in the wrong category; pianos in babywear, washing machines in lonely hearts; and golf clubs in ex-military/collectibles. And manhole covers; I am always surprised at the number of manhole covers surplus to requirements.

– Benjamin F Jones
Surplus to requirements

Nairobi Manhole – Kenya

About Graphite Bunny

I am a writer working in South Wales (UK). I love pizza, photography and moist clay. When it rains I catch drops in my open mouth. I create poetry, flash, absurdist snapshots and humorous fiction.
This entry was posted in Exercises, Prose and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Small adds: the pink pages

  1. that’s a great little piece. Feels like it’s a part of something larger but it stands well on it’s own.

    • It is from a short story – the principle character has this thought when he is looking for a present for his sister. Although I liked it the inner monologue slowed up the pace and stopped the reader getting to the rather tense relationship between a grown up brother and sister (and kittens hidden in a cupboard).

    • I will send you a copy. The original it typical of my older work. No real theme and it just kind of bumbles along sucking in ideas and styles as it goes. The story is about a lonely chap who has his sister come over for a meal with her new thug of a boyfriend. The first page is about reading the free-ads and phoning up about kittens.

Leave a Reply

