Husk: customer services

The girl behind the counter
is just a shell of makeup
nothing more than flimsy imagination
painted onto monotonous pain

talking exhausts her;
as my energy transfers into her space
it batters her senseless

she has given up on everything
even breathing is strained.

-Benjamin F Jones
About Graphite Bunny

I am a writer working in South Wales (UK). I love pizza, photography and moist clay. When it rains I catch drops in my open mouth. I create poetry, flash, absurdist snapshots and humorous fiction.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Snapshots and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Husk: customer services

  1. OMG I met her double in B&Q a week ago, serving at the till. I smiled at her, but I think she must have had an argument with some polyfilla, as her face was immovable.

  2. I often experience this kind of service, Ben, and it makes me despair. The only way I find that effectively manages my despair is by ramping up my own, not inconsiderable, enthusiasm for life, love and general friendliness that it scares the living bejesus out of the witless drone, thereby turning my encounter from one of despair to one of high amusement! Good, eh?

  3. I witness this daily, Ben. The only way I can combat my depression regarding such encounters is by ramping up my own enthusiasm in a vain attempt to scare the bejesus out of the witless drones!

  4. David Eric Cummins says:

    What a vivid picture you’ve created with this! Excellent work!

Leave a Reply

