Cruel Deception: instant coffee

A photograph of a cafetiere next to a hand thrown coffee mug; laminated into plastic and propped up against the microwave on the counter.
“Can I have a coffee?” I point at the picture  and fizz open my wallet.
She smiles and takes my coins. From beneath the counter she juggles a tin the size of an oil drum. She winks as she spoons coffee granules like second hand cat litter – adds scorched water – and begins to stir all horrorshow.

– Benjamin F Jones
Kitty litter coffee

Begins to stir all horrorshow…

About Graphite Bunny

I am a writer working in South Wales (UK). I love pizza, photography and moist clay. When it rains I catch drops in my open mouth. I create poetry, flash, absurdist snapshots and humorous fiction.
This entry was posted in Humour, Prose, Prose Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cruel Deception: instant coffee

  1. beton says:

    Thank you for the sensible critique. Me and my neighbor were just preparing to do some research on this. We got a grab a book from our area library but I think I learned more from this post. I’m very glad to see such wonderful information being shared freely out there.

    • I think more people need to be made aware of the health risks of instant coffee – I hope you were able to save your neighbour before he turned to freeze dried granules – it inevitably leads on to stronger things.

Leave a Reply

