Haiku #2147: Summer

Summer wide windows
faeries dance in wax
night breeze shiffles candle flames.

– Benjamin F jones
About Graphite Bunny

I am a writer working in South Wales (UK). I love pizza, photography and moist clay. When it rains I catch drops in my open mouth. I create poetry, flash, absurdist snapshots and humorous fiction.
This entry was posted in Haiku and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Haiku #2147: Summer

  1. My dog likes catching moths. I hope they’re not faeries in disguise, like the ones in your part of the world.
    I like inventing words. Shiffles is a good word. I invented ‘scritching’ in something I wrote – it seemed the right way to describe the noise a twig was making against the window in the wind. Far more creepy and atmospheric than boring old ‘scratching’.

    • I think there should be a lot more invented words. My fram has been curdled too many times – just for a few baggits or a floozy-bag; gouging my trixi, cracking and scratching in frustration. Bloody groupers; the Rivits can do nothing; it is too close to the dookyard. It was time for me to take action.

      • Wonderful made-up words. That deserves a separate post – especially as the piece I received as an email was far longer than the four lines reproduced here that I’m replying to.

      • They were indeed. I’m thinking I need to set up a new blog for my very odd stuff. Here I can post ‘normal’ poems – there I can post the crazy lumps of prose derived from telephone directories etc.

  2. jonth says:

    Shiffles is not in my dictionary. Maybe it works all the better for that!

Leave a Reply

