Bench Rest in Cardiff

Brown leaf yellow
flat and curled like crêpe
on the grass
crows’ kerfuffle
looking for afternoon tea
and scones with jam

watched by a cat
that twitches and chirrups
tail swash
fat seasonal hair

trees shed for winter
finger autumn blue sky
biting at my left cheek

keys of sycamore
and leaf shed
path blended to pâté
a straight line
wet burning edges
where the sun arrives
in double-decker squares
between the buildings

by the bench
a blizzy of business cards
torn into quarters
scattered footsteps
round patches of mud
a office man approaches his car
cardboard box face
door slamming to free seatbelt
diesel air

my jacket
cracked leather
creaks as I stand.

– Benjamin F Jones
About Graphite Bunny

I am a writer working in South Wales (UK). I love pizza, photography and moist clay. When it rains I catch drops in my open mouth. I create poetry, flash, absurdist snapshots and humorous fiction.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Snapshots and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Bench Rest in Cardiff

  1. Dear Mr Bunny, I continue to heap awards upon you like blogosphere confetti 🙂 You have now fallen victim to the “Sunshine Award”.

    http://sarahpotterwrites.wordpress.com/2012/09/18/the-sunshine-award-yay-im-basking-in-its-rays/

  2. So atmospheric – I agree, it’s a gorgeous snapshot of autumn. You manage to evoke a taste of the new season without getting into clichés, which is such a tough thing to do! Loved it.

    • Wow. Thank you very much for your kind words. Autumn is the best season of them all. I got so excited when I looked out of the window and the sycamores were beginning to turn yellow.

      • I love autumn – I think a lot of people feel the same – but I always dread autumn poems because they’re all the same. This one was different, which is amazing given how well the topic’s been covered!

        x

      • Thank you very much. Praise indeed. I was thinking about your comment on the bus today. I invented the game ‘Autumn Bingo’ which has words such as: crimson, vermilion, skeletal and tenacious. I think there could be a whole series of poetry bingo cards. Love poetry cards, spring cards etc. I am going to phone up Warner Games when I have finished my coffee.

      • Haha, love it! I see your crimson, vermilion, skeletal and tenacious, and I raise you dappled, bonfires, golden and crisp.

        Hurry up and finish that coffee!

      • I have been thinking for a long time I need a secondary blog. A blog of weirdness. Somewhere that I could post cliché poetry bingo cards, all my SF erotica with tentacles/plogs and micro organisms in the form of an Argos catalogue. This conversation moves me another step closer. I have just done a Graphite Capsule banner.

  3. Lovely snapshot of Autumn encroaching. I adore crows and such birds. Today I’m wearing a T-shirt with a cheeky-looking baby jackdaw on it.

    • They are the most adorable of the birds. To be honest I’m not much of a bird fan, I can see why others have a fascination – but there is something a bit unsettling about them. Jackdaws get over that by being clockwork humour machines.

Leave a Reply

