Christmas Cheer

Holiday in a long black coat catches her stiletto in a drain and falls; cracking open on the pavement dry and white with salt; spilling inane music and warm plastic snow, thick as holiday shoppers with armfuls of bags and children. Family whirlpools steam over shop-fronts, teenagers with miniskirts and blotchy heat-deprived legs. The smell of cigarette smoke in cold air. Christmas blend coffee, seasonal tampons, light up hats and million bulb decorations reflect from snotty noses. Queues blend through doors held open by cold wind and office lads with bottles and downing glasses. Panic attacks. Rolls of tissue-thin wrapping paper, free for a pahnd love. Toy soldiers that crawl between shoppers, firing machine guns to liberate seasonal cheer and goodwill and quash insurgent party-poopers with beany hats. The inflatable St. Nicholas watches our frenzy from the apartment block, out on the penthouse balcony with shimmer hanging from everything.

About Graphite Bunny

I am a writer working in South Wales (UK). I love pizza, photography and moist clay. When it rains I catch drops in my open mouth. I create poetry, flash, absurdist snapshots and humorous fiction.
This entry was posted in Scraplets, Snapshots and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Christmas Cheer

  1. Now THAT is a scene from a nightmare, albeit well written 😉
    Are you on board for the winter writing extravaganza, or are you still computer-less? Did you catch my posting and new page about this yesterday? Hope you want to join in. xox

    • I have a computer but what I lack is internet connectivity. I am in a bit of a dead spot and my phone works ok in the night but as soon as the network gets busy I get stuck. I am currently in the library. I have to find a new schedule where I make it a weekly trip maybe with my daughter to choose books or somesuch. Anyway I would love to be on board – I have exhausted the markets for the last SF book. I think the next book is going to the be the Mycad Knife – I have one person that says they want to read it!

      • I’ve just switched mobile networks to giffgaff, as I had the same problem with a bad or non existent signal where I live. Very pleased with the result. Have a look at giffgaff.com and see what you think. There are some brilliant goodybag packages for pay-as-you-go. For £10 a month I get 1GB of internet plus, I think it’s 250 minutes of calls etc. You can take your old number with you, on request.

        You have a person interested in the Mycad Knife…yay! Any interest is an achievement these days. I just had an agent reject my children’s novel in 2 days. That must be a record! They must’ve read one paragraph, if that.

        During Novel Writing Winter, I’m going to venture down paths new. To quote John Cleese — “And now for something completely different”.

        Take care. I’m missing our regular communications. xox

      • I can always communicate by email. Now that does work. It comes in when the network is busy. It is more than just very low connectivity of course. The mobile phone is not a good tool for editing posts and I don’t have access to comments. And by the way the person interested in my novel is my girlfriend – I don’t think she is going to invest a lot of money. But I seem to be losing interest in getting published again. I am happy to write. The prose poems are coming on very well. But this month I must get my application for university tidied up. I am not sure that I am going to be able to go yet but if I don’t put in an application then I definitely won’t be able to go. Regarding internet connectivity and blogging I have considered going to Weatherspoons when I finish the early shift – though I do feel there maybe a significant lowering of blog quality and the Priory is very expensive!

  2. Keith Parker says:

    Seasonal tampons?~! “LOL” doesn’t do it justice; I literally laughed-out-loud.

Leave a Reply

