Novel Writing Winter 2013

novelwritingwintertrees1Novel Writing Winter starts on January 1st 2013 and runs through to March 20th (for more information see SarahPotterWrites). So what is my novel going to be? I am looking at a collection of prose poems, called Nosedive Crawling, which together form a whole. It was originally planned as a conventional plot driven novel but parenting is inherently without plot. Contemporary novels, mainly written from a female perspective, tend not to be about parenting but rather a secondary plot form applied to motherhood. I wanted my material to speak with more integrity. By retelling the story through a series of prose poems I feel I can capture the unpredictability of day to day living. I do not want the pieces to become over sentimental, nor do I want the collection to be downbeat – I want to create a photo album in text that captures, with honesty, the calms and storms of full-time fatherhood. Themes will include, sexism, humour, isolation, differing viewpoints on parenting, mental health, domestic violence, sexual stereotypes, and the inescapable landscape of the Rhondda. I will use surrealism, one of the recurring elements of prose poetry to showcase the magic and fantasy elements of child development.

– Benjamin F Jones
About Graphite Bunny

I am a writer working in South Wales (UK). I love pizza, photography and moist clay. When it rains I catch drops in my open mouth. I create poetry, flash, absurdist snapshots and humorous fiction.
This entry was posted in WIP and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Novel Writing Winter 2013

  1. Kristi says:

    I would definitely want to read that!

  2. It’s a great idea. I am trying for JaNoWriMo with my writing group, but realistically, I won’t be done with the first draft by the end of January. But if I were to take the winter…

  3. Reblogged this on sarahpotterwrites and commented:
    Great to have Graphite Bunny on board. I’m a great fan of his colourful prose and, often, surreal interpretations, so am very much looking forward to sharing a writing journey with him during NWW.
    To learn more about Novel Writing Winter http://sarahpotterwrites.wordpress.com/novel-writing-winter-nww-2013/

    • I am on board but feeling a bit seasick. One more day – not complete by a long shot but definitely in the right direction. Would you like to have a look at it sometime. I would love your feedback. It is just over 30 prose poems at the moment.

      • Well done, managing despite all! Yes, would love to look at the poems, but need to get to grips with the grand issue of self-discipline over my work-in-progress. I’ve only written 6,000 so far, partly due to it being an impossibly challenging novel to keep a handle on, and partly due to endless other pressures.

        When I look at your poems, I want to feel relaxed and honour them with my full attention–especially if you want some constructive feedback. So can you bear with me for a little while, then you can give me 40 or 50 poems to enjoy instead? 🙂

      • Thank you I will get them over to you. I have found a new way to get on the internet. It involves a pub with free wifi! It could be the end of monthly internet visits and the start of alcholism…

      • I’m good at making one drink last an entire evening! Too expensive otherwise.

      • I often wonder if I could sit outside. Mind you I don’t have a car and they might notice a tent in the carpark.

      • I can certainly wait. This project has been 7 years in the making and if I go to do an mphil I won’t have to hand them in for three more. And I do treat your time as precious. X

      • So glad to hear you’re still wanting to do the mphil 🙂

  4. Great to have you on board 🙂 Your writing project sounds very interesting. Thanks ever so for the post, which I’ll now reblog.

Leave a Reply

