Death by Shopping

Drains beneath the pavement carry the sound of feet drumming on skin. The city’s heart is burning. I am a fly caught in a window display. Watching the slave market – dressed up alongside handbags branded. Trapped behind glass I smell coins and notes. Consumers rustle like wasps. My frown hurts in a crown, extending round my head. I feel crystals of patience turning to gas and condensing on the shop windows. Carrier bags stir on the surface of a mirage – their mouths have been bricked up. I listen to the melody of unborn children in mothers bulging with smiles. Waters break under the eaves of arcades. Another generation born to cigarette ash and burger grease. Newborns with radios in their ears – speaking with two voices. Microwaves for milk. There is not much air between the window and the back of the display. My blood is the texture of old banknotes.

– Benjamin F Jones
About Graphite Bunny

I am a writer working in South Wales (UK). I love pizza, photography and moist clay. When it rains I catch drops in my open mouth. I create poetry, flash, absurdist snapshots and humorous fiction.
This entry was posted in Prose Poetry, Scraplets and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Death by Shopping

  1. That is a brilliant piece of writing. I particularly love the “frown” and the “mothers”. It makes me feel very sorry for the babies being born into such a world. Thank goodness there’s still beautiful countryside to share with our children, too. I suppose the mountains and hills are too slippery, wet, and shrouded in mist at the moment, for you to leave the shops behind and commune with nature.

Leave a Reply

