End of the Season

The relationship has ended. That’s why I’m here. Returning after only a day – rattling back through the white chalk swellings to my point of departure. Tipped onto the platform at Hatfield Station with nothing but longing. To the north is a time I call closed and my walk through the town feels like defeat. The cars and students have been swept from the streets. Tanya looks at me in surprise as I stand on her doorstep in the heat. Her cat ties shapes round my legs. I’d come from the bed of someone who loved me but I can never love – through the arms of someone I loved but could never love me – to the front door of a woman who I hoped would accept me. I felt like a shell – searching for a place to live with nothing but greenflies for company.

– Benjamin F Jones
About Graphite Bunny

I am a writer working in South Wales (UK). I love pizza, photography and moist clay. When it rains I catch drops in my open mouth. I create poetry, flash, absurdist snapshots and humorous fiction.
This entry was posted in Prose Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to End of the Season

  1. That’s so sad D: But it’s also so true that without acceptance on both sides, relationships are doomed to failure. In my mind, the number one ground rule is for acceptance of “this is how I am and don’t try to change me because you suddenly believe you own me”.

Leave a Reply

