Platform Ritual

I wait on the platform for a seat that will carry me into town. There is a book in my bag, safe, I touched it before I left the house. I never get my book out on the platform. A ritual. I tantalise myself with the knowledge of its existence as the train squeals down the curving track. Passengers surge, each hoping for the jackpot door. I drop into a seat and only then do I open my briefcase. For the next thirty-four minutes I am not on a train.

– Benjamin F Jones
Thank you to Angie and Jonth for lending me internet so I can update my blog.
About Graphite Bunny

I am a writer working in South Wales (UK). I love pizza, photography and moist clay. When it rains I catch drops in my open mouth. I create poetry, flash, absurdist snapshots and humorous fiction.
This entry was posted in Prose, Snapshots and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Platform Ritual

  1. I never travel anywhere without a book. Even if I’m standing in a queue somewhere, out comes the reading material to stop me getting bored.
    P.S. I thought you had access internet all the time now. Hadn’t realised it was borrowed from friends. Is it worth me sending you an email, or shall we have a proper catch up later?
    Hope your anthology is going well. On the last word count, I’ve reached approx. 27K in my WIP and steaming ahead. Being really disciplined and bursting with ideas. It’s a long time since anything has grabbed me so. When I’m done, promise to have a good read of yours xox

    • Definitely for email. My phone doesn’t know your email but it will if you send me one! Nosedive Crawling has changed its name but is still progressing I have written some rather bitter and twisted pieces about relationships. They will probably be cut in the end. Good work on 27k. Mine is a long term project so feedback in the future would be welcomed from someone as honest as you. And if I ever get the chance to look at yours I would be happy to give feedback. I know you are not looking for wip feedback on this one. Have a great day and good to hear from you. Xxx

  2. I particularly enjoyed this one, Ben. I’ve spent many train journeys completely absent.

    Keep it up, fella!

    Plus, if you are even remotely interested, I blog regularly on my http://www.shanks-pony.com website (which is a Tumblr whatsit…)

    Matt Mac

Leave a Reply

