School Bully

Twins under verbal attack. At the bus stop on the first week of school. They look smart in grey and red as they are beaten down. No one turns as the bully tears a strip – it is their mother with the killing tongue.

– Benjamin F Jones
About Graphite Bunny

I am a writer working in South Wales (UK). I love pizza, photography and moist clay. When it rains I catch drops in my open mouth. I create poetry, flash, absurdist snapshots and humorous fiction.
This entry was posted in Prose and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to School Bully

  1. Some parents don’t deserve children. Verbal abuse can sometimes be more toxic than a smack on the back of the hand, yet it’s only the smack that’s outlawed. It’s so embarrassing and humiliating for children in public, when their parents are the ones having the toddler tantrum. Then these same parents wonder why their children fight back later.

    • It is a fascinating and rather grim subject. You are right. The physical attack is always the one that is easier to prove. But years later the scars and the pain will have faded but the mental health problems may well be recurrent and marked – agoraphobia, fear of darkness, fear of going out. The NHS will be there to give you stitches for the cut but the mental health issues are left behind untreated.

  2. Keith Parker says:

    Superb. Chilling and disturbing, yet superb.

  3. This one made me cringe. So easy to abuse one’s power as a parent and so devastating to our kids when we do.

  4. I created a post on the Bitcointalk forum about an eCurrency that is in competition with Bitcoin and needed some advise and opinion on the topic. A day later there were several negative attacks on a company I had mentioned in my post and on me. Twelve out of 14 comments were sanctimonious and opinionated. The other two were from the moderator Martti Malmi aka Sirius and were defamatory. I posted back somewhat sarcastically with “Thanks for the pontificating, dogmatic, sage, etc. advice!” which resulted in ‘full mod status’ being put on my user account. This basically meant from then on my posts had to be reviewed by a panel of administrators before being published. Later on the moderator himself created a new posts with defamatory attacks on the company that I had mentioned in my post. I even tried to delete the post I had created and the moderator blocked me from doing this.

    Well, I can deal with bullies on forums, trolls and the like a lot easier if I didn’t have to worry about the forum administrators protecting them! I get tired of myself and others being dismissed as oversensitive or censored when we fight back against these bullies. So much for free speech!

Leave a Reply

