Lash Route

A train waits, basking in the sun on the bridge. We shout abuse. Mark throws a can. It’s beautiful tonight. Off at the station and into the city. The air is golden, the high street like a motorway to be pillaged. The clubs are clotted with roaring men and oases of girls exposing bellies that shine like goals. Mark is swaying and singing but he’s forgotten the words. The girls laugh. He stumbles and wedges his eyes into a cleavage for support. ‘Slappers.’ This is the way we always come – right at The Yard. Six hours until we will reach the clubs at midnight. If we score we get home after sunrise – high and stupid as clouds. If not it’s back to mine, via chip alley for kebabs and the wine in my fridge.

– Benjamin F Jones

I love the idea that this is an opening for a novel. It has characters and a wonderful scene. 

About Graphite Bunny

I am a writer working in South Wales (UK). I love pizza, photography and moist clay. When it rains I catch drops in my open mouth. I create poetry, flash, absurdist snapshots and humorous fiction.
This entry was posted in Prose and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lash Route

  1. That just about sums it up, most eloquently. I love the description of girls’ bellies shining like goals.

    • Thank you very much. I both love and hate this kind of atmosphere on a fri/sat in big cities.

      • I think I’ve always preferred to read about this type of fri/sat night scene, or watch it in a movie, than be involved in something that makes me personally uncomfortable. I’ve never felt part of the crowd,

        You’ve described it ever so well.

      • Thank you. And it is interesting that you say crowds make you uncomfortable. I am the same. The crowd mentally seems to suck everyone in until everyone is shouting and acting in ways they don’t normally behave. It is well documented. I have been in a few situations like that and it never makes me want to join in, always look for an escape route and escape. I am sure it is a documented reaction in group mentality.

Leave a Reply

