Drowning in adjectives

I take the book from by bag. Page one and the principle character is moaning – he smells  pipe tobacco which he smokes but doesn’t like. A scholar with calloused hands he smothers like joy rotting gin. I struggle through a mulch of pedestrian language and cliché toadstools – by the end of page two I’m drowning in adjectives and squirting modifiers. The book goes back in my bag and I watch first autumn creep past the windows of the bus. The green and blue form a perfect casing for Friday. When I get home the charity shop will be one book richer.

– Benjamin F Jones
About Graphite Bunny

I am a writer working in South Wales (UK). I love pizza, photography and moist clay. When it rains I catch drops in my open mouth. I create poetry, flash, absurdist snapshots and humorous fiction.
This entry was posted in Prose Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Drowning in adjectives

  1. I’m considering returning a book to a charity shop for resale. It won the Booker Prize and is slowly driving me up the wall. I’m over a hundred pages into the book and have no picture in my head of the main character, although I know about her ancestors in detail. The darned writer doesn’t even know how to use semi-colons properly and yet she’s won that bloody great prize.

    • We all knew that prize winning and best selling has nothing to do with the ability to write or punctuate; I think you persistence is amazing; 100 pages; I too can abuse punctuation.

Leave a Reply

