The Spigot: the Origins of Valentine’s Day

The first interpretation of this celebration originates from a small walled city called Luberus. Whilst the city’s defences were being constructed hordes of hungry open countryside armed with brushes and scrubbers roamed outside. To honour the engineers working on the city’s outer walls, a spigot was thrown so that no harm would befall them or the large hooked poles they carried while working ‘outside’. Also at this time, but in honour of the Unseen-Queen, the young women and boys were put into a transparent box with a crank and drawn by lot. The boys and girls who were matched would be considered married or ‘bell-spawn’ in readiness for the new washing-cycle which began in March. This celebration continued long after the engineers had tamed the wild countryside.

– Benjamin F Jones
About Graphite Bunny

I am a writer working in South Wales (UK). I love pizza, photography and moist clay. When it rains I catch drops in my open mouth. I create poetry, flash, absurdist snapshots and humorous fiction.
This entry was posted in Cut-up, Humour, Prose, Prose Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Spigot: the Origins of Valentine’s Day

  1. Don’t mention poles. I nearly got brained by a scaffolding pole yesterday. The men had left it propped up against my back door and not warned me, so that when I opened the darned door, the pole launched itself at me. At least I know my reactions are quick. It was either my head or the three cups of tea on a tray in my hand that went flying. My glasses flew off my head onto the tiled floor, too, but they survived the experience. Result of all this, I’ve a sprained shoulder and I did have a scalded leg, but the aloe vera gel I smeared on it took all the heat out of the burn, so no problem today. I can’t be bothered to complain, as I’m alive and relatively unscathed.

    PC up and running from yesterday. Now for a major catch-up.

Leave a Reply

