Their souls are rotten

A human army marches to the battle where the office is a glass climax. Handicapped pigeons police the city – white-bread-inbred, they peck at vomit and flap onto a railing as I approach. Their bellies are full but their souls are rotten. I reach my destination and revolving doors catch me like a throat, drawing me in and checking my badge. The lift strips my freedom. It takes four minutes to become a machine that thinks in numbers and answers the phone. A small part of me watches the seagulls hanging in the updraft of the tower block – and that part is crying.

– Benjamin F Jones
Revisiting some of the old material written from the glory of an office in Cardiff.
About Graphite Bunny

I am a writer working in South Wales (UK). I love pizza, photography and moist clay. When it rains I catch drops in my open mouth. I create poetry, flash, absurdist snapshots and humorous fiction.
Aside | This entry was posted in Snapshots and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Their souls are rotten

  1. Those pigeons policing the city sound quite sinister. I’m glad this place wasn’t your destiny.

    • I think I am too. The warehouse of doom is not the most salubrious of jobs but it fits in with what I want to do, they do pay me a bit and there are some nice people there. So I am not going to complain. I have two more learning weeks of counselling – then on to revision – then exam. I have my application form for level three to hand in too.

      • My fingers are tightly crossed. You’re going to make a brilliant counseller — there’s no doubt at that. As far as your jobs in the warehouse goes, you live in an area of high unemployment and are one of the lucky ones. It’s really down to getting along with the people, even if it’s hard work to do so with everyone. I remember doing some really repetitive and potentially boring jobs in my early twenties but having such a laugh with my co-workers. I was once offered a permanent job where I was temping, just because I made a group of women I worked with laugh, when they were usually so miserable. As a consequence of their increased happiness, their work productivity increased.

      • Life really is what you take from it. 43 and I am only just beginning to learn that. Today I introduced myself to the 2 new members of staff with a huge announcement about how fabulous and amazing I was. It certainly made them laugh.

      • But you are fabulous and amazing!

  2. jonth says:

    Yes, I remember this piece. Pleasingly uncomfortable. Is this my destination? Only if I decide not to travel any further.

Leave a Reply

