Poisoned with nails

Rachael’s Mum slips down between the cracks of the pavement, melting like paper in the rain. She is a minefield poisoned with nails. The doctor can’t control her with drugs so she uses her wit like a crowbar to open her children. Mums on the school run complain about her bullying and when she blocks the school gates with her car she curses at the people who ask her to move. Sometimes she feels insecure and talks to me. I treat her words like clumps of something scraped from the kitty litter. I sidestep her lies as they burst out on autopilot and lodge in the cracks of the wall.

– Benjamin F Jones
There is cell death in everything tonight.

Autopilot

About Graphite Bunny

I am a writer working in South Wales (UK). I love pizza, photography and moist clay. When it rains I catch drops in my open mouth. I create poetry, flash, absurdist snapshots and humorous fiction.
This entry was posted in Prose, Snapshots and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Poisoned with nails

  1. Oh dear, I’ve met mothers like that. They’re very scary and best not argued with.

Leave a Reply

