I leave silences for answers

6am and the rain pours off the burger van roof. The owner flips bacon and squizzles it with the spatula until it squeals. He calls me Gabe but that is not my name. He talks about the weather and asks me questions about my job. Mist settles like resin and I leave silences for answers – not because I’m rude but because I have nothing to add to his conversation. I’m thinking about Johari’s window and I know he wouldn’t be interested in that; his dialogue is a Venetian blind.

– Benjamin F Jones
Pencil

Pencil for those doing exams today…

 

About Graphite Bunny

I am a writer working in South Wales (UK). I love pizza, photography and moist clay. When it rains I catch drops in my open mouth. I create poetry, flash, absurdist snapshots and humorous fiction.
This entry was posted in Snapshots and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I leave silences for answers

  1. According to a book I’m reading at the moment, men are generally much more comfortable with silences than women are. The latter tend to feel driven to fill such spaces with chatter, although I’m beginning to grow out of that! Conversation, for the sake of it, is becoming increasingly wearisome with every year that passes, although I can’t believe the statistic that says that couples tend to spend on average only 6 minutes a day talking to each other. Mister and I spend loads more time than that, but then we take time eating meals sitting at a proper table and not in front of the telly.

    • Yes, there are some people on our counselling course who struggled with silence as a counselling technique – the problem is the client needs time to think so bamboozling them with questions doesn’t help.

Leave a Reply

