A Man Trapped in the Instant of Falling

The car is parked and I’m in the driver’s seat. People swirl with bags of clothes and toys for pets. Flat pack furniture washes against the paint work. In the rear mirror I see you’re asleep. I don’t know who I am or where I live. I don’t know your name or mine. On the verge a triangular sign reads, ‘Danger sudden drop’, above is a picture of a man trapped in the instant of falling. There is no future, no past, no churn of hamster wheel brain. It never occurs to me that I should be frightened. I am a moment of car-park solitude. Sound touches me like companionship. Your chubby fists curl as you squirm in your sleep.

– Benjamin F Jones
About Graphite Bunny

I am a writer working in South Wales (UK). I love pizza, photography and moist clay. When it rains I catch drops in my open mouth. I create poetry, flash, absurdist snapshots and humorous fiction.
This entry was posted in Prose Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Man Trapped in the Instant of Falling

  1. I love that last sentence in particular. Ah, the peace when a baby is asleep.

Leave a Reply

