They showed her how to eat wood

Susan is crushed after years of coming home to her boyfriend’s crying. Her emotions feel like glass. She has a job that abuses rather than nurtures, her employer doesn’t want to invest in people, he wants a battery. As she opens the front door her boyfriend’s tears roll over her and she chokes on the salt. ‘There is no space for me’, she tells him, and crawls under the bed. To her surprise she finds a party of woodlice, accepts their hospitality and drinks from their flagon of cider, pleased that she’s found a peer group. When they show her how to eat wood she realises she’s never going to have to come out from beneath the bed again. When her boyfriend begs, she excretes ammonia and curls into a ball.

– Benjamin F Jones

Woodlouse

Woodlouse on silver

About Graphite Bunny

I am a writer working in South Wales (UK). I love pizza, photography and moist clay. When it rains I catch drops in my open mouth. I create poetry, flash, absurdist snapshots and humorous fiction.
This entry was posted in Flash, Photography, Prose Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to They showed her how to eat wood

  1. I love this 🙂 And now I can’t wait to have my science fantasy novel ready for you to read. When you meet the woodlouse-type creatures in there, I think you’ll agree that Susan might have a real affinity with them!

Leave a Reply

