Like a Challenge

The mince pies are ready as I step off the train. A dozen dusted with sugar. I turn them down as I’m full of diesel fuel. The next day they’re reheated. I turn them down again but the neighbour takes one. I don’t tell her that the cling film is second hand and stored in a shoe box, or that the fridge is turned off at night because it gets cold. I found cockroaches had set up a TV and sofa behind the butter. Over the next four days the pies are absorbed by unsuspecting visitors like a bacterium shot, always warmed and offered with a jug of cream. On the last day, as I’m getting ready to leave, the remaining pie is set on the table like a challenge. Four in the morning and the coffee is a cheap trick. I peel back the film and bite through the pastry.

– Benjamin F Jones

[Last month I had a piece accepted by Sein und Werden, ‘A flood of endorphins, which should be published in the first half of this month for ‘The Restless Consumer’ issue.]

About Graphite Bunny

I am a writer working in South Wales (UK). I love pizza, photography and moist clay. When it rains I catch drops in my open mouth. I create poetry, flash, absurdist snapshots and humorous fiction.
This entry was posted in Flash, Snapshots and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Like a Challenge

  1. Well done, getting a piece accepted:-) Oooo, I so don’t want one of those pies.

    • The lady we were staying with was taking medication for IBS which she got from some dodgy source. I am convinced that what she thought was IBS was a continuum of food poisoning from her and her very obedient cook. I learned that there was a patisserie down the road and I only ate there after the first few days.

Leave a Reply

